Wednesday May 19, 2021
Updated on 7/7/2021
Arkansas passed Issue 6 in 2016, allowing for the creation of a state cannabis patient registry and system of sales and regulation for medical dispensaries. Although the initial rollout was extremely limited, medical dispensaries are now open across the state. Legal protection for medical marijuana patients is especially important in Arkansas, as the state is known to have some of the strictest cannabis laws in the country.
However, thanks to telemedicine, obtaining a medical marijuana card is fast and easy for those with a qualifying condition. Simply make an appointment, have your consultation, get approved and register with the state. Once your card arrives, you’re good to go!
Get your Arkansas Medical Marijuana Card Online
To get your Arkansas medical ID card, follow these simple steps:
- Connect with a telemedicine provider or licensed AR physician.
- Get approved and submit your application to the state.
- The card will be approved within 10-14 days, and should arrive shortly after.
- Shop at an Arkansas dispensary!
You must be 18 years of age or older in order to qualify for a medical marijuana card for yourself, or 21 years old or older if you intend to apply as a caregiver. You can complete the designated caregiver application here.
How Much Does an Arkansas Medical Marijuana Card Cost?
There is a $50 application fee. The physician's consultation has a cost of $199.
What Documents Do I Need for the Appointment?
You’ll need an Arkansas State ID (Arkansas driver's license or Arkansas state ID issued by the DMV). If you have any medical records available, those are helpful as well, but not always required.
How Long Does the Process Take?
Your physician’s consultation will typically take 10-15 minutes. Once your application has been submitted, there is a processing time of 10-14 days. Once approved, your card will arrive in the mail shortly after. Arkansas does not issue temporary med cards, so unfortunately you will have to wait for it to arrive before you can shop.
Applying to become a Medical Marijuana Patient with the Arkansas DOH
First, a patient must acquire a doctor’s recommendation (see above). A physician’s certification is valid for 30 days. If a patient gets a certification and fails to submit it to the ADH within 30 days, they must get a new certification.
Arkansas state residents with a qualifying medical condition can apply to be recognized as a medical cannabis patient here.
Create an Account and Apply
- Click on Apply
- Click on Register as a new user
- Enter a valid email address and create a password
- Write down and save your password (you will need it later)
- Check your email for "Confirm Your Account" email (you may need to check your trash or spam folder)
- Confirm your account
- Begin your application
- Complete every box in the application
- Don't forget your SSN
- Don't forget your military status
- Don't forget to sign (use your finger or mouse and sign in the box)
- Submit State ID (take a picture and upload it)
- Submit Physician Certification (take a picture and upload it)
- Finally, finish and pay.
Once all application checklist items are completed successfully, your registry identification card from the Arkansas Department of Health will be valid for one year from the date it is issued OR the amount of time designated by the physician.
Which Conditions Qualify for an Arkansas Medical Cannabis Certificate & Card?
Qualifying Health Conditions Include:
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Crohn’s disease
- Hepatitis C
- Intractable pain which is pain that has not responded to ordinary medications, treatment or surgical measures for more than six (6) months
- Peripheral neuropathy
- Positive status for human immunodeficiency virus/ acquired immune deficiency syndrome (HIV/AIDS)
- Post-traumatic stress disorder
- Seizures including without limitation those characteristic of epilepsy
- Severe arthritis
- Severe nausea
- Severe and persistent muscle spasms including without limitation those characteristic of multiple sclerosis
- Tourette’s syndrome
- Ulcerative colitis
And any other medical condition or its treatment approved by the Department of Health
Is Registering with the Arkansas Department of Health Necessary?
Yes. Arkansas has some very strict cannabis laws, and recreational cannabis remains illegal. In order to be recognized as a medical marijuana patient, you must register and be approved by the state.
What are the Medical Marijuana Possession Limits in Arkansas?
Registered patients are allowed to purchase up to 2.5 ounces from a dispensary every 14 days. The possession limit is the same as the purchasing limit.
Can I Grow Cannabis as a Medical Marijuana Patient in Arkansas?
Arkansas does not allow for home cultivation by patients or their caregivers. All medical cannabis products must be purchased from a state-licensed dispensary.
Arkansas offers reciprocity to all other states with valid medical cannabis programs. A visiting qualifying patient may obtain marijuana from a dispensary with completion of a visiting patient form and producing evidence of his or her registry identification card or its equivalent that is issued under the laws of another state. The cost for applying is $50, and the card is valid for 30 days. In our experience, the process was very easy and straightforward.
You can complete the visiting patient application here.